December 21, 2014

The Seven Deadly Sins! Re-post from 4/09/09

Wow, I was led to this pretty awesome informational website titled, DeadlySins! I have taken the following from their website to share with you. Please click HERE to visit their website.


The Seven Deadly Sins are those transgressions which are fatal to spiritual progress. You probably commit some of them everyday without thinking about the rich tradition of eternal damnation in which you're participating. Welcome to your source for history and current information on the Seven Deadly Sins and the Seven Heavenly Virtues.

Click on the sin for a more in-depth review. Related topics are listed below.

Pride is excessive belief in one's own abilities, that interferes with the individual's recognition of the grace of God. It has been called the sin from which all others arise. Pride is also known as Vanity.

Envy is the desire for others' traits, status, abilities, or situation.

Gluttony is an inordinate desire to consume more than that which one requires.

Lust is an inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body.

Anger is manifested in the individual who spurns love and opts instead for fury. It is also known as Wrath.

Greed is the desire for material wealth or gain, ignoring the realm of the spiritual. It is also called Avarice or Covetousness.

Sloth is the avoidance of physical or spiritual work.


According to Proverbs 6:16-19, there are Seven abominations unto the Lord:
  • a proud look
  • a lying tongue
  • hands that shed innocent blood
  • a heart that deviseth wicked imaginations
  • feet that be swift in running to mischief
  • a false witness that speaketh lies, and
  • he that soweth discord among brethren.

No comments: