January 11, 2011

1-11-2011 = 7

Today is 01-11-2011 which in numerology equals the number 7. I would to share the meaning of this number.

Numbers and Their Meanings
Seven (7)
[source: Crystal Links]

If 6 represents humanity then 7 - the center of the spiral is humanity's connection to its Source, God, Christ Consciousness - or whatever name you prefer.

Seven is the number of the Universe. It is the three of the heavens (soul) combined with the four (body) of the earth; being the first number containing both the spiritual and the temporal. In looking over the list of meanings it doesn't take long to figure out why the seven has become significant in metaphysical, religious and other spiritual doctrines - as seven represents the virginity of the Great Mother - feminine archetype - She who creates.

There are 7:
  • ages of man
  • ancient wonders of the world
  • circles of Universe
  • cosmic stages
  • days of the week
  • heavens
  • hells
  • pillars of wisdom
  • rays of the sun
  • musical notes - sound as frequency plays a key roll in matters of Universe. There are over 80 octaves of frequency - each governing a specific manifestation in Universe.
In all cultures, myths and legends seven represents:
  • completeness and totality
  • macrocosm
  • perfection
  • plenty
  • reintegration
  • rest
  • security
  • safety
  • synthesis
The seventh ray of the sun is the path by which the human beings pass from this world to the next. Seven days is the period for fasting and penitence. The seventh power of any number, both square and a cube and thus was given great importance.

Alchemy: There are seven metals involved with the Work.

Astrology: There are seven stars of the Great Bear which are indestructible. There are seven Pleiades-- sometimes referred to as the, Seven Sisters.

Buddhist: Seven is the number of ascent and of ascending to the higest; attaining the center. The seven steps of Buddha symbolize the ascent of the seven cosmic stages transcending time and space. The seven-storied prasada at Borobadur is a sacred mountain and axis mundi, culminating in the transcendent North, reaching the realm of Buddha.

Chinese culture: the meaning and symboligies are intertwined throughout in their myths and legends of fairies and animal spirits.

Christian: Seven is idealogogy. God is represented by the seventh ray in the center of the six rays of creation. There are seven sacraments; gifts of spirit; the seven of 3+4 theological and cardinal virtues; deadly sins, tiers of Purgatory (in metaphysical belief this would be one of the lower astral planes - or in Buddhism, one of the Bardo planes). There are 7 councils of the early church - crystal spheres containing the planets - devils cast out by Christ - joys and sorrows of Mary the Blessed Virgin, mother of Jesus - liberal arts - major prophets - periods of fasting and penitence - seventh day after the six of creation

In the Old Testament there are the seven altars of Baalam; oxen and rams for sacrifice; trumpets; circuits of Jericho; seven times Naaman bathed in the Jordan. Seven is the number of Samon's bonds; the child raised by Elisha sneezed seven times. The Ark rested on the seventh month and the dove was sent out after seven days.

The number seven is used 55 times in Revelation. It usually means fullness or completeness as in seven days of the week. God rested on the seventh day. Examples abound: seven churches, seven trumpets, seven seals, seven bowls, seven eyes etc etc.

Egyptian mythology: There are seven Hathors as Fates and the priestesses of Hathor have seven jars in their seven tunics. Ra has seven hawks representing the seven Wise Ones. Six cows and a bull represent fertility. There are seven houses of the underworld, as depicted in Egyptian myths, with three times seven gates. Seven is the sacred number of Osiris.

Graeco-Roman: Sacred to Apollo, whose lyre has seven strings, and to Athene/Minerva and Ares/Mars; Pan had seven pipes (again a reference to seven musical notes and frequency); there seven Wise Men of Greece.

Hebrew tradition: Seven is the number of occult intelligence. There are seven Great Holy Days in the Jewish year; the Menorah has seven branches; the Temple took seven years to build; and there are seven pillars of wisdom.

Hinduism: there are Seven Jewels of the Brahmanas and seven gods before the floods and seven Wise Men saved from it.

Islamic: The perfect number is seven. In Islamic tradition there are references to seven:
  • heavens
  • climates
  • earths and seas
  • colors
  • prophets (active powers) states or stations of the heart The Ka'aba is circumambulated seven times representing the seven attributes of God.
There are seven branches to the Tree of Life each having seven leaves. Leaves are symbols of fertility, renewal and growth. There are seven gates of hell, seven demons of Tiamat and seven winds to destroy her---interesting to note that in many belief systems it is said that the astral plane has seven levels to it--one sound on one of those levels is "wind".

Seven is a mystic number traditionally associated with Venus and more recently with Neptune. It is the number of feelings and of instincts - of the Group Mind, of Love, whether that strange, indescribable but pervasive feeling of love is towards another person, a pet, oneself or one's God. 'Love' embodies tremendous sexual energy, the emotions of which may be directed in various ways.

There are seven chakras of the body. These are the energy nodes that rise up the course of the spine from the basal node, where is coiled the Kundalini serpent, to the point at the top of the head. The mundane well-being of the body and its aura are linked to the chakras. The heptagram is symbolic of this balanced, flowing of bodily energies and of health. It is a symbol relating to healing and dynamic balance of the body physic.

No comments: